RSS Feed

It’s Only June but the Memories-of-a-Lifetime Clock is Already Ticking

It’s the first official week of summer vacation and it seems like it’s almost September. Everyone around me is already vacationing on faraway beaches, sending their kids to faraway camps and foisting their memories-of-a-lifetime upon anyone who will allow them into their Facebook newsfeed.

I already feel the pressure to send my kids to golf camp while I run barefoot with an exotic drink in one hand through the foamy surf of Nantucket. In front of our family’s compound. In the company a few dozen good friends and relatives. While we prepare our annual clam bake. And chili cookoff. To raise money for the less fortunate people who can only afford to summer in the Hamptons.

Instead, this summer I will continue to work – likely picking up overtime where I can in an effort to make a chip in some of my debts. All the while I will make plans on the list in my head of how I can make this summer memorable and meaningful for my kids. The pressure is really on. Golf camp. Boy scout camp. Swimming. Beaches. Cookout. Playground. Camping. Visit grandparents. Playdates. Drive in movies. Buy new sneakers. Even with a list this long I never feel like I’m doing enough.

It sucks to always compare what you have to what others have. Be it keeping up with the Joneses in the cul-de-sac or on the Facebook newsfeed – it’s hard to avoid.

But before I feel like the summer’s passed me by and I didn’t get my kids to that monster truck rally in France (True story! One of my kid’s friend’s vacation plans!) I’ll stop looking outward for validation on my parenting skills.

So…sorry Facebook. Sorry cul-de-sac clique. From now on I’ll judge my parenting abilities by the happiness and well-being of my kids.

About Fortyteen Candles

oh, let's see...distinguished Gen-X'er, frustrated writer, suffocating in the confines of a small town that thinks it's a big deal. A few years ago we were home to the second largest Walmart in our state, don-cha-know. Oh, and I was voted "Most New Wave" in my senior high school year book. Actually, that last sentence alone is really everything you need to know about me.

2 responses »

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel

    I’m stuck out in the country with my grandguys in Florida 3000 miles from my home and 30 miles from the nearest store with no way but walking to get there anyhow. It’s so great to see the boys whom I visit but once a year that I changed my plane ticket so I could stay longer. Poor hubbie. He had to go home and back to work so he’s missing all the fun.
    It ain’t the Hamptons. It ain’t Paris. But, like you, I’ll judge my grandparenting by the happiness of the kids.

    Reply
  2. Hi Teresa, First of all…thank you SO MUCH for following my blog! I checked out yours…and it is really amazing:) Being stuck in the country has it’s benefits. What a great inspiration for writing! Especially if it is complaint oriented, like mine…lol. The happiness of kids is always the best guide for parents, grandparents, teachers, society. Sounds like you are doing a phenomenal job at being a grandma! Thanks for your comment.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

