RSS Feed

Another day, another milestone….Facebook style

My fears about blogging my way out of anonymity have reached an all time high today. I am officially announcing my official blog official Facebook page. Officially. So, without further ado. Please welcome…

“Fortyteen Candles Official Blog”

https://www.facebook.com/#!/FortyteenCandles

As long as I can remember, whenever I felt fear I knew it meant “change.”  I think there’s even a good greeting card quote for that. But, change is good, right? Well I guess that’s relative. What’s changing? What’s it changing to? While my brain is distracted by trying to find the logic in this swirling stew, there is another part of me which is fearless. This part of me can be very annoying, too. Like when it makes me do something a bit impulsively that I might regret later. This fearless part is what keeps me pushing forward when I am afraid. It is the part that clicks the “submit” button on posts I’m not sure of. It also quickly clicks the “send” button on messages and emails before my internal editor has gone over all the tally sheets. Suddenly, my internal thoughts are in the public domain. Although I know it’s for the best, I can’t help but yell, “Damn you!” and “thank you!” simultaneously. Not as easy, or comprehensible, as you’d imagine.

Whenever I think of this internal editor personified, I think of one of my best friends in high school. She was a Leo, and I totally admired her fearlessness. I remember one day we were at the mall and we decided that if our lives weren’t working out it the way we wanted (i.e. having perfect lives) then perhaps it was because we were doing everything wrong! (Side note: everything wrong in my teenage years was exclusively due to clothing and jewelry choice) Cure? Do everything opposite of what we’d like and then things will magically work out for the better!

My Leo and I went into a popular clothes store for teenage girls, right then and there, and picked out clothes we wouldn’t be caught dead in, and earrings to match. Then we bought these items and started wearing them with reckless abandon. Result? I realized I liked red stripes! And trendy 80’s earrings weren’t so bad when you lived in the 80’s!

Back to my original point. My internal editor, the Leo, has insisted I put up a Facebook page for my blog. I’m not sure why, because WordPress is working out very well for me. I just think this is just another push forward in my effort to be comfortable in my creative shoes, so to speak. Plus, I see there are many other bloggers with Facebook pages, so it seems to be the thing to do.

So, as of this morning, but originally started in May and sidetracked for numerous reasons, is the re-launching of my “Fortyteen Candles Official Blog” page. My goal is to update it as often as I can, but I’m sure Leo will see that it’s done sooner than that.

About Fortyteen Candles

oh, let's see...distinguished Gen-X'er, frustrated writer, suffocating in the confines of a small town that thinks it's a big deal. A few years ago we were home to the second largest Walmart in our state, don-cha-know. Oh, and I was voted "Most New Wave" in my senior high school year book. Actually, that last sentence alone is really everything you need to know about me.

16 responses »

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel

    I can’t wait to go to Macys so I can buy something I wouldn’t be caught dead in. Such a great idea!

    Reply
  2. onlineghostwriterforhire

    Have you read their Terms Of Service? Most people do not, and they sound frightening! You don’t need them, your WordPress Blog is good enough the way it is.

    Reply
  3. I’m yet to decide about Facebook – I have recently set up a WomanBitesDog Facebook page but I’ve yet to work out what I will use it for – so it is just sitting there. I’m not entirely clear on copyright issues either – and that bothers me. I also ******* hate the notifications that clog up your email. Set up a dummy email account! Oh, and good luck

    Reply
    • Yeah, I know what you mean. I set up my Facebook page because I saw other bloggers did that. I don’t think in any way it gets more people to my blog than WordPress does. Most days I don’t even know if anyone reads it! I thought in the least it could get more word out there on Fortyteen Candles. But, honestly, it doesn’t seem like FB is designed to increase PR.

      Reply
      • Interesting about the lack of increase in PR. Also, are you putting new/different information on FB compared to the blog? At the moment I’m only directing my blog there – thought it just takes too much time to build any presence on FB and with questionable benefits for me!

      • No, nothing different. Just links to my current essays and blog. I put 99.3% of my blogging energy into WordPress.

  4. I do the same thing – links to current blog items – but I also try to be more visually oriented on my blog’s FB page. I tend to talk, erm, rather enthusiastically over on my blog, so on FB I try to rein it in a bit, and provide something complimentary that’s a little less…chatty 🙂

    Reply
  5. Where have you been all my life??!
    I came across this blog because a blogger friend (forever51) encouraged ME to create a Facebook page for my blog today. When I snooped around her FB page once I started mine, I found this awesomeness. You summed it up just right; I felt ILL setting that thing up! Feels so strange and vulnerable to “expose” the side of myself that loves reality TV to people who actually think I’m sort of smart. We have to just keep clicking “submit” I guess…

    Reply
    • Ha Ha Ha…I love how the WordPress community all seems to “know” each other in a way. I recently “met” forever51 here. She is awesome!! In fact, I feel like we’re all neighbors living in my DREAM neighborhood! I’m still new to all this blogging stuff, and I’m just trying out different things as I go. I noticed yesterday not many others seem to have FB pages. I’m not sure what they can do…but one thing is sure…they refer excellent bloggers like yourself to my blog! I’ll have to check out your blog, and of course your FB page. Love the ‘stache. Maybe I’ll get one someday so I can put up my picture, too 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

