RSS Feed

Mom Update!

Good news! As of today, my mom has regained most of her speech and is, for the most part, back to her feisty self again. Well, she’s about 85% back to where she was. She is being discharged from the hospital tomorrow and will continue her speech, occupational and physical therapy in a long-term rehabilitation facility. It is incredible the high and lows you can find in a single week. You never knowย ahead of time whatย roller coaster life has hidden for you within a random minute on an average day.

Finally, I am overwhelmed by all the support, positive thoughts, prayers and encouragement I’ve received from the WordPress community. I can’t even begin to express how much all of your interest in the health and well-being of my mother has meant to me. Usually I like to stew alone in my thoughts, but here I am free to type away without a sentence end in sight. This experience has been very cathartic for me and I really feel like I’m not so alone in all my inner turmoil and stress anymore.

Again, thank you all so much. You are amazing souls!

About Fortyteen Candles

oh, let's see...distinguished Gen-X'er, frustrated writer, suffocating in the confines of a small town that thinks it's a big deal. A few years ago we were home to the second largest Walmart in our state, don-cha-know. Oh, and I was voted "Most New Wave" in my senior high school year book. Actually, that last sentence alone is really everything you need to know about me.

34 responses »

  1. Great news indeed ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  2. I am very happy for you.

    Reply
  3. Great news! I hope her recovery continues to be successful.

    Reply
  4. Excellent news. That’s great.

    Reply
  5. why am I here in a handbasket?

    things are looking up! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. Rerrific. thanks for letting us all know.

    Reply
  7. wherethedaytakesme

    Good to hear of the news, keep your spirits high, God has it.

    Reply
  8. So glad Mom is doing so well. Now take just a few minutes and do something for yourself!

    Reply
  9. Great news!

    Reply
  10. Yeah !! I understand the freedom here- it is cathartic. It’s also much more refined in that we only read the stuff from people with which we feel a connection- less random than FB. I’m glad things are looking up ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  11. 40 is the new 13

    Such good news! I’m so happy to hear your mom is recovering. And I’m also glad that this community has been such a strong support for you. You’ve shared so much with us… we owe you and are so happy to be here for you in any way we can!

    Reply
  12. Great, great news! Hugs and smiles to you and your mom:>)

    Reply
  13. Not that you need yet another award, but I got another Lovely Blogger award and guess what? YOU have another one too! Drop by to pick up your prize: a nice little graphic to add to your post (unless, of course, you already have one lying around)! I should rename this the โ€œYou brighten my lifeโ€ award. You really brighten my life. And, you pick up my typos. Where have you been all my life?

    Reply
  14. So happy to hear of her progress. It is still early days in terms of treatment so more recovery can probably be expected. Hang in there and look after yourself too.

    Reply
  15. Great news! Just delighted for you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

