RSS Feed

And….the survey says?

I have been writing, now, for many years. Every time I start writing something new I always think “This is it! This is the writing piece that I will finish. It will define me as a writer and set me on my path to publication and personal fulfilment.” And then none of that ever happens. Repeat to fade.  I then force myself to see the bright side to the madness with each project stall, “Ahh, well. Another scrap in the heap. At least computer files don’t pile up all over the floor”.  No, they just get lost and deleted with the next worm invasion. It makes me sad to think how many of my blurbs and brain farts  the world will never know.

Writing is just about impossible without feedback. I am so fortunate that I have such an amazing audience here on my blog. I am so appreciative for every comment I receive from you all.  Since I never have feedback on my writing outside of my blog, “Fortyteen Candles,”  it has been a real challenge for me to move forward to work on bigger projects. In case you do not already know, I live in a cul-de-sac in the middle of nowhere. On the bright side, where I live puts me in a great position  to find answers to such questions as:

  • What kind of liquid fertilizer works best on corn?
  • Is that alfalfa?
  • What’s that smell?
  • When are you going to Walmart?

Back to me and my problems. Just kidding – they are now everybody’s problems! Anyway, I’ve been all over the writing map in my life…poetry, screenplays, sonnets, short stories, essays, letters to the editor, chapters, greeting cards, whole books, a million outlines, and a billion scraps of paper containing earth-shattering topics and story plots that never amounted to much. Enough, I say. Enough. I am officially, today, here, right now, stopping the insanity. I’m getting it together in a good way for a change. Furthermore, I like to believe that someday the world will thank me. Ok, a bit too much. Seriously though, I have decided to take the opportunity of asking all of you for your opinions on my writing so far. If you like my blog and enjoy what I write then I’d like to get your insights as to what you think would be a good path for me to take my writing on next.

At this time, I turn to you dear readers to help me out with a survey. I am asking you all for your valuable feedback. Just let me know what types of stories I write that you find the most interesting, entertaining or meaningful? I would be so appreciative to have  your thoughts on my writing so far. I’m hopeful I can take this information and commit to my next writing project….which I already have two really great ideas about. Sigh. I thank you sincerely, truly and in advance. Thanks.

Now, without further adu….here is the official Fortyteen Candles Writing Survey 2012. Oh, and you can pick more than one answer if you like.

About Fortyteen Candles

oh, let's see...distinguished Gen-X'er, frustrated writer, suffocating in the confines of a small town that thinks it's a big deal. A few years ago we were home to the second largest Walmart in our state, don-cha-know. Oh, and I was voted "Most New Wave" in my senior high school year book. Actually, that last sentence alone is really everything you need to know about me.

24 responses »

  1. I would have vote on “a bit of all issues”… 😉

    Reply
  2. I’ve never been here before, but I picked number three, because those are the bits in today’s post that made me laugh. I’ll bet you have a knack for American-culture satire.

    Go on. Write that comedic novel with scathing subtext. It’s your destiny!

    Reply
    • Thanks for visiting my blog, and for giving me your insights. Yeah, I’ve often thought about writing a satirical view of American culture. Maybe because I live so close to Canada I kind of feel removed from it on a certain level! Either that, or it’s because I’m marooned on a cul-de-sac in the middle of nowhere. Anyway, I really appreciate hearing your point of view!

      Reply
  3. why am I here in a handbasket?

    I can pinpoint one thing. Everyday bullshit is always the funniest.

    Reply
  4. Teresa Cleveland Wendel

    I really loved the things you wrote about living in a cul-de-sac. I’d love to read a collection of humor essays related to that. I think that would be do-able for you since you can brainstorm subjects and personalities to target, and write them one at a time. That’s what I did with my collection and it was easy and fun to put together.

    Reply
    • I’m glad you enjoyed my cul-de-sac period. Actually, it’s almost been a decade. I’m sure I’ll continue on with that as well, since writing what you know is always recommended. It’s just about all I know, unfortunately! LOL…Thank you for your comments on this, it is a great feeling knowing you would like to read more about this! You have some great ideas on this as well. Targeting each individually would be a quick way to tackle this mishmosh.

      Reply
  5. I do the EXACT same thing with my writings… I have stuff saved from when I was in middle school…. Had I actually finished those and published them (even at that young age!!!) I would have beaten a few of today’s slightly disappointing writers (some of the latest hits are lacking in the quality that I like). And been years ahead of them!! I could be filthy rich instead of eating the couch cushions…

    My advice to you? Put yourself out there. Before someone else comes along and steals your idea, then sells it half-baked and less than perfect.

    Reply
    • Eating the couch cushions? LOL…I’ve never heard that before, but I might be there someday myself. Great advice. I agree. It’s never too late to get published. Continue on with your own writing! Thanks for stopping by.

      Reply
  6. I voted for all categories – it’s your unique voice and way of telling stories, not the material. Write on!

    Reply
  7. I love how you’ve just put yourself out there. A courageous venture. I will look at the survey and put my 2 cents in.

    Sue Bock
    http://couragetoadventure.com/blog

    Reply
  8. MAN, i USED TO LOVE fAMILY fEUD.

    Reply
  9. I would love to read stories from your nursing career.

    I remember watching the Family Feud when I was in middle school, with my grandfather, and he referred to Richard Dawson as Mr. Kissy Face.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Fortuitous. I’m glad to know so many people like stories about my experiences as a nurse. That is something I never would have put together on my own. Yes, I always loved Family Feud. Only when Richard Dawson was on, of course. Yes, he did have a way with the ladies….lol!

      Reply
  10. I think you should focus on the Gen Xer stuff and how your (or should I say OUR?) life growing up in those times affected us. Gotta remember, you can’t be everything to everyone and the more niche your writing is, the more you connect.

    AND think about it, all of us Gen Xers are old to enough to buy books without having to ask our parents for our allowance 🙂

    Reply
  11. Interesting survey… hope it helped you clarify things…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

