RSS Feed

The Results Are In!

Thank you all so much for answering my survey I posted a few days ago. I was looking for insight from my wonderful blog readers on what types of stories I write here on “Fortyteen Candles” that you all find the most interesting, entertaining and enjoyable. Without a doubt, according to the results from my survey, the most interesting stories to you all are 1. Stories about living in suburbia and my neighbors (heh heh heh….) and 2. Stories about my experiences as a nurse.

Honestly, when I started this blog I KNEW it would be a great place for me to vent my frustrations about living in a cookie cutter town full of uninteresting people who like to form cliques and one up each other materialistically or child achievementally. Thank you all for confirming my belief that this is a very entertaining subject that is best suited to scathing sarcasm with a twist of sheer joy. My neighbors continue to drive me insane, and I’ll have more stories soon as our Halloween Trick or Treating interactions have awakened my muse and gotten her to work on some urgent therapeutic writing.

Something my survey pointed out that really surprised me was your interest in my work and experiences as a nurse. Nursing is something I went into in response to a strong desire I have to help and take care of other people. This is something that is just programmed into me and I don’t see it objectively. I never think what I do is anything above and beyond what humans should do for each other every day, or would do if they were in a situation to do so, therefore I never think it would be interesting or entertaining in any way for others to read about.

The interactions I have with my patients, families and co-workers are on an emotional, philosophical, moral and spiritual level at times. I don’t know how these translate into print, but my general impression since they evoke “feelings” is that they would be dull and non action-packed. Translation = “dull” writing-wise. However, the comments I’ve received on my stories about nursing, as well as on this survey, have really opened my eyes to the value of sharing these experiences with others. It is important for others to know that in this world of increasing depersonalization there are still people out there who care, and will always care, for others in need. I have taken these comments very seriously and it has given me a lot to think about as I organize my next big writing project.

So, since it is hard for me to only focus on one project at a time, I’ve started sorting in my mind two separate writing projects….one for suburbia and the neighbors who drive me insane, and one for my experiences as a nurse. I really appreciate the time you all took to give me your feedback. Thank you, thank you, and thank you again!

 

About Fortyteen Candles

oh, let's see...distinguished Gen-X'er, frustrated writer, suffocating in the confines of a small town that thinks it's a big deal. A few years ago we were home to the second largest Walmart in our state, don-cha-know. Oh, and I was voted "Most New Wave" in my senior high school year book. Actually, that last sentence alone is really everything you need to know about me.

10 responses »

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel

    Somehow those two subjects could work themselves into a comic short story or novel–the main character’s personal and work life interactions. Now you just have to give that character a problem and a way to work it out.

    Reply
  2. I definitely enjoy the nursing stuff. Since being on disability, I miss work SO much…. it’s who I was. It’s taken years to even begin to think of myself as anything other than a nurse- and I still am- I keep my license current…but I’ve also been out of the workforce for over 8 years. The core stuff stays the same- people hurt, families are either amazing or psychotic, and coworkers/doctors are either team players or their own elite category. It was wonderful 🙂

    Reply
    • Yes, nursing becomes part of your identity. Perhaps you should be writing a book of your own nursing experiences, Jill! I’m sure you have a lot of heartwarming, inspiring and “interesting” stories from your nursing days 🙂

      Reply
      • I’ve thought about it. 🙂 Not sure where to start, or how to go through the publishing process. There are a lot of nursing books out there- I’d have to narrow down the audience. And I’m not sure the newbies of today would give a rat’s tail about some old fart’s memories 🙂 LOL

  3. It’s good to have more than one thing going on at once. If working on one thing becomes stale or you get stuck, you have something else to work on while your brain is chewing it over in the background. However, if you have too much going on at once, it can be distracting.

    Reply
  4. Keep several creative fires going…can’t hurt. Thank you for checking in during the Hurricane… your kind wishes were appreciated!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

